The Earful Episode 12


Welcome everyone to THE EARFUL, a delicious piece of new content from the minds over at the OH NO RADIO SHOW. This bonus show will feature a countdown of songs we have been enjoying within our ONRS community giving you all a taste of musical variety and maybe even turning you onto to something you'll like! We hope to do these shows often and would love your feedback and input as well on what we should be listening to. Hope you came hungry cause this episode is packing a serious punch of flavor. Bite into Earful TASTY TWELVE! Mmmmmm. 

Tracks played on this episode of The EARFUL:

Top of the show - “Equiana” by The Skins - off Indie Psyche Rock - Rare Recording from the Attic - 2012

1 -The Pinker Tones - “In Pea We Nuts” -  off The Million Colour Revolution - 2012

The Pinker Tones is an alternative pop band from Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

2 - Little Brother - “Say It Again” - off The Minstrel Show - 2005

Little Brother was an American hip hop group from Durham, North Carolina that consists of rappers Phonte and Big Pooh and DJ/producer 9th Wonder.

3- Phoenix -  “J-Boy” - off Ti Amor - 2017

Phoenix is a rock band from Versailles, France, consisting of Thomas Mars, Deck d'Arcy, Christian Mazzalai and Laurent Brancowitz

4-  Saint Etienne -  “Dive” off Home Counties - 2017

Saint Etienne are an English band from London, formed in 1990. The band consists of Sarah Cracknell, Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs

5- The Soul Jazz Orchestra - “Life Is What You Make It” - off Resistance - 2015

The Souljazz Orchestra is a Canadian musical group based in Ottawa that has toured Canada, the United States and Europe. Their music is a fusion of soul, jazz, funk, afrobeat and Latin styles.

6- Beta Frontiers - “Still Love (feat.Humans) ” - off Heights EP - 2017

Toronto’s Beta Frontiers a.k.a. Michael Butler

7- John Zorn - “Batman” - off Naked City - 1989

John Zorn is an American composer, arranger, producer, saxophonist, and multi-instrumentalist with hundreds of album credits as performer, composer, and producer across a variety of genres,

8- Chateau Marmont - “Everybody Is Somebody” off Sound Of Shambala - 2015

Chateau Marmont is : Julien Galner & Raphael Vialla

9- Pretty Lights - “Yellow Bird” - off A Color Map of The Sun - 2013

Derek Vincent Smith, known by his stage name Pretty Lights, is an American electronic music producer.

10- First Aid Kit - “My Silver Lining” - off Stay Gold - 2014

First Aid Kit is a Swedish folk duo that consists of the sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg. When performing live, the duo has been accompanied by a drummer and a pedal steel guitarist

11 - Perrey & Kingsley -  “Spooks In Space” off Space Age Computer Music - 1966

The musical duo Perrey and Kingsley are pioneers in the field of electronic music. Before their collaboration, starting in 1965, electronic music was considered to be purely avant-garde.

12 - Bad Tits - “Ftw in 2010” - off Garbage Night EP - 2010

Sebastien Grainger and Josh Reichmann. Grainger from Death from Above. Another Band on Last week’s Earful. Sound of garage-y post-punk electronic.


So our sponsors demanded we come up with a new segment so we did! Under The Covers pits the original performer of the song off against the artist who covered the same song. Who did it better? We discuss….


ORIGINAL by The Mamas & the Papas off 1966’s If You Can Believe Your Eyes and Ears

COVER by Eddie Hazel off 1977’s Came, Dames and Guitar Thangs

Make sure to check out all the past episodes of THE EARFUL over at OUR PAGE RIGHT HERE! Stay tuned for future episodes and make sure to check out these artists online if you liked any of the tracks you heard on today's show. Also if there are songs, artists or albums you think we should be listening to please leave them in the comments!


Share | Download

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App